St George's, affectionately known as the "little white church on the corner" or "the church beside the gravel pit" has been a presence on the corner of Sandy Beach and Doran Rds for over 150 years. We are a vibrant worshipping community with a family-like atmosphere.
This is the third St George’s building to be used by this worshipping community. The first was a log structure destroyed by fire. The second, erected in 1877 was used faithfully for many years. The third and current building, which includes a hall beneath the sanctuary, was dedicated by Bishop Reed in 1958. The entranceway, bell, bathroom facilities and plumbing were added more recently with funds raised as a part of the diocesan GIFT program.
Today, hundreds of people gather multiple times a year for gospel singing and hot suppers.